BREAKING: Sydney to be split into three separate cities by 2056

October 24, 2017

The NSW Government has announced a radical 40-year strategy for the City of Sydney, which will see it being split into three separate cities by 2056. The plan foresees an eastern city bordering the harbour, a river city around Parramatta, and a parkland city in the west.


Improved transport infrastructure and housing have been identified as imperative to the success of the government’s plan. A separate yet complementary transport plan has been released promising that a 30-minute commute will be possible between all three city centres by the time the plan is complete. A train link from Kogarah to Parramatta, and one from Parramatta to the north-west, are two key infrastructure opportunities that have been flagged for consideration.


“This draft Plan is built on a vision where the people of Greater Sydney live within 30 minutes of their jobs, education and health facilities, services and great places,” reads a statement on the Draft Greater Sydney Region Plan website.